Kees Wieringa


The pianist Kees Wieringa graduated at the Sweelinck Conservatory in Amsterdam in 1986. He studied under, respectively, Gerben Makkes van der Deyl, Edith Lateiner-Grosz, Willem Brons and Jan Marisse Huizing. At the Berlage Concourse in 1988, he was one of the prize winners with piano music by Jakob van Domselaer. He gives national and international concerts, not only in many European countries, but also in Turkey, Indonesia, India, the United States and Japan. In 1991, Kees Wieringa debuted in London, New York and Djakarta. In 1994, he performed in the United States (also in the Carnegie Hall) and in Russia with the last Beethoven Sonata. Kees Wieringa also contributes to radio- and television-programmes: as regards this, he performed for VPRO-radio/ television, NCRV-radio and NOS-radio/ television. He gave masterclasses at conservatories in Turkey in 1990.

As a pianist, Kees Wieringa performed in many concert halls and participated in various festivals, such as Festival New Music in Middelburg and Festival Old Music in Utrecht. During the 'Ferienkurse' in Darmstadt 1992, he was part of the piano forum and gave some concerts. Meanwhile, compact discs have appeared with music by Simeon ten Holt, by avant-garde composer Morton Feldman, piano music by Jakob van Domselaer and chamber music by Jacob ter Veldhuis. A compact disc with music by Franz Liszt is in preparation. Several composers have dedicated compositions to him.

Kees Wieringa forms a duo with cellist RenÚ Berman. In 1991, they won the first prize at the Orpheus Concourse in Belgium. Kees Wieringa also joins various ensembles (Ingehovenproject, Ruynemanproject, Lemniscaat Ensemble). He is active in theatre projects with dancer/ choreographer Moos d'Herripon. At the moment, Kees Wieringa also works as a programme maker for dutch radio and television.

Compact discs of Kees Wieringa:

Buckinx, Boudewijn In De Buurt Van Neptunus Cassa Nova REC CNR 950821 (Boudewijn Buckinx Homepage)
Domselaer, Jakob van Pianomusic (Do Records 001)
To be expected:
Pianoconcertos no.1 en 2
Feldman, Morton Untitled Composition (Attacca 9160-3)
Holt, Simeon ten Natalon in E /Cyclus aan de Waanzin (CDJD 13 SH)
  Soloduiveldans no.2 (WVH 055)
  Lemniscaat (CLAR 53317-19)
  Incantatie IV (CDJD 18 SH)
  Canto Ostinato (Emergo Classics)
  Méandres (NM Classics)
  Untitled Composition (Attacca 9160-3) (Morton Feldman Homepage)
Veldhuis, Jacob ter Diverso Il Tempo (BVHaast)
Dutch Sonatinas for piano I (Do Records 004)

To be expected:
Dutch Sonatinas for piano I (Do Records 006)
------------------- De Ploeg: Daniel Ruyneman and his time
(Do Records 002)
------------------- Theo van Doesburg (Do Records 005)

From the press:

  • 'The mysterious "Gnomic Variations" of George Crumb became a musical and faultless interpretation of Kees Wieringa. We will undoubtly hear more from this gifted pianist.' (Binnenhof, Erik Besier)
  • 'I can guarantee, that lovers of pianoplaying will appreciate this record. Kees Wieringa is clearly a musician.' (Gooi en Eemlander, Jacq. A. de Heij)
  • 'This Suite, consisting of five parts, captures one's attention in a pleasant manner in the interpretation of Kees Wieringa. With this record the pianist has made not only publicity for the reputation of the composer, but also for himself as an interpreter of contemporary repertory.' (Vredenburg bulletin)
  • 'Straightforward fascinating was the playing of the pianist Kees Wieringa. There were no perceptable moments of weakness. The standing ovation was quite certainly justified.' (Noordhollands Dagblad, Jos Ruiters)
  • 'A combination of ideas and pianistic talent made this recital of Kees Wieringa a fascinating experience.'(Nieuwsblad van het Noorden, Paul Herruer)

  • 'Berman and Wieringa just did it: faultlessly conjuring up for one hour and twenty minutes an almost unbearable tension; frustrating, a compulsion of all or nothing at all. Afterwards the full concert-hall had trouble adjusting to daily reality again. There is no better compliment for the performers.' (Gentenaar)